Skip to main content
Student Award Video

Congratulations to our Spring 2020 Award-Winning Students!

Student Awards/Deans List
On April 20th we held another online celebration for our student award winners and our dean's list recipients from the last year! This year's Outstanding Student Award winners are:

Outstanding Junior: Benedicta Wiafe
Benedicta is a communication major in the business and organizational career track with a second major in French. She’s a William C Parker scholar and has served as a UK 101 peer instructor, k-crew leader, and as the event coordinator for the African Students Association. Benedicta plans work in community development to help the poor, orphaned, and disabled in her home community of Kumasi-Ghana and around the world.

Outstanding Senior: Eliza Mikunda
Eliza is communication major in the digital and mass communication career track with minors in political science, history, and Italian. She is a member of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars, Phi Kappa Phi Honors Society and the UK Saddle Seat Team. After graduation, Eliza plans to move to Washington DC to work as a Foreign Service Officer for the U.S. State Department in Public Diplomacy.

Harrington Award, established by Professor Nancy Harrington to recognize an outstanding communication major in the health communication career track: Eva Hensley
Eva is a first-generation college student and a member of Phi Theta Kappa and the Arthrogryposis Awareness Team. She volunteers for the Ronald McDonald House and her hometown public library. After graduation, Eva plans pursue a master's degree in either Health Communication or Social Work and then return to Eastern Kentucky to help educate those suffering from poverty and the drug epidemic.

Click here to see our online celebration of our outstanding students. Congratulations to all!

Image removed.