Provost Honors Distinguished Service Professors

Story by UK Public Relations.

LEXINGTON, Ky. (April 22, 2009) – University of Kentucky Provost Kumble Subbaswamy has appointed six UK professors as Provost’s Distinguished Service Professors, effective Jan. 1, 2009 through Dec. 31, 2012. The award recognizes and honors professors for their consistently high level of achievement in their contributions to their disciplines and the university.

The professors were nominated by the deans of their colleges or departments and the awards are based on excellence in all areas of assignment, including service to the university as well as public service. The terms of appointment will be three years, and each professor will receive $10,000 per year, which may be used as a research or professional development fund, or as a salary stipend.

“Those being recognized as Distinguished Service Professors have demonstrated sustained excellence across UK’s multiple missions,” Subbaswamy said. “They are ideal models and mentors for our junior faculty.”

The Distinguished Service Professors are: Michael A. Andrykowski, Department of Behavioral Science in the College of Medicine; John H. Eichhorn, Department of Anesthesiology in the College of Medicine; Lorraine E. Garkovich, Department of Community and Leadership Development in the College of Agriculture; Merl M. Hackbart, School of Management in the Gatton College of Business and Economics; Jeffrey P. Okeson, College of Dentistry and Philip C. Palmgreen,Department of Communication in the College of Communication and Information.

Michael Andrykowski
 – Andrykowski’s research interests are focused within the fields of behavioral and psychosocial oncology.  His research examines the broad impact of cancer and cancer treatment upon the lives of cancer patients and cancer caregivers. His research also examines the impact of participation in cancer screening and diagnostic testing as well as testing for hereditary cancers. Andrykowski has chaired two different study sections convened by the Department of Defense Breast Cancer Program, served as a full-time member and co-chair for an NIH study section, and served on the NIH review committee for the UCLA Comprehensive Cancer Center Core Grant. In 2008 he received the Distinguished Research Mentor Award by the Society of Behavioral Medicine.

John H. Eichhorn 
– In 2007, Eichhorn was honored in the year’s list of Best Doctors in America®, and he is also playing an integral role as the World Health Organization (WHO) launches its second global patient safety challenge, “Safe Surgery Saves Lives.” The new program centers on a safety checklist and has four main sections: Surgical Site Infection Prevention, Safe Anaesthesia, Safe Surgical Teams, and Measurement of Surgical Care and Quality Assurance Mechanisms. Eichhorn, along with four other anesthesiologists– from New Zealand, India, Nigeria, and England– and a biomedical engineer from Massachusetts, created the “Safe Anaesthesia” section of the initiative.

Lorraine Garkovich 
– Garkovich is a state Extension specialist in the Department of Community Leadership and Development in the UK College of Agriculture. Garkovich has been at UK since 1976, and her research focuses on community and organizational change, and land use issues. She helped create the Public Service and Leadership program, and has crafted a curriculum and built a program that is producing highly successful students and graduates. She recently served as chair of the College of Agriculture’s Equine Initiative, which was selected as a UK Commonwealth Collaborative program.

Merl Hackbart
 – Hackbart’s research interests include public budgeting and public finance applied to state fiscal policy and transportation policy. His current research efforts include an analysis of debt capacity assessments for the State Road Fund compared to the General Fund, an assessment of state policy initiatives designed to encourage entrepreneurial activity, and a study to estimate the structural balances (positive or negative) for the states. He is a former member of both the Kentucky Council for Postsecondary Education and the Kentucky Consensus Revenue Forecasting Group, and serves as a senior policy adviser to the governor. He is also a past president of the Association of Budgeting and Financial Management.

Philip C. Palmgreen 
– Palmgreen is a professor of communication and served as a member of the Office of National Drug Control Policy’s Campaign Design Expert Panel (1997-98) and Behavior Change Expert Panel (1998-2001), which both contributed to the development and implementation of the recent $2 billion national substance abuse prevention campaign. In 2001, Palmgreen was asked to testify before the U.S. House of Representatives Subcommittee on Criminal Justice, Drug Policy and Human Resources to explain why PSA campaigns can be effective when designed successfully. Palmgreen has also served as a member of the advisory board for the Partnership for a Drug-Free America.

Jeffrey P. Okeson 
– Okeson is a professor of dentistry and chair of the Department of Oral Health Sciences. Okeson founded the Orofacial Pain Center at the UK College of Dentistry in 1977 and has become one of the world’s leading experts on chronic orofacial pain problems. He is course director for seven postgraduate courses offered in orofacial pain, and mentors several postgraduate students and faculty members. In addition to his work as a clinician, Okeson has published more than 180 articles in the area of occlusion, temporomandibular disorders and orofacial pain, and has authored seven textbooks and edited one additional textbook. In 2007 he was a recipient of the UK Alumni Association Great Teacher Award.

A recognition ceremony and reception hosted by the Provost will be held for the recipients at 1 p.m. Friday, April 24, in the Lexmark Room of the Main Building. In addition to the Distinguished Service Professors, four additional faculty and three teaching assistants will also be recognized as Provost’s Outstanding Teachers. Faculty, staff and students are invited to attend.